LIBERTY CENTER — The Liberty Center Local Schools Board of Education Monday approved a number of personnel items.

Superintendent Richie Peters reported to the board there was a lot of uncertainty to the 2020-21 school year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but the district has been able to cover all but two positions as of the board’s meeting. He said those positions included a third-grade staff member and a playground monitor.

“We’re in a position to attempt to move forward (on those hirings). But, the staff is ready to go, and we’re up to the challenge to get ready for fall,” Peters said about the upcoming school year.

The board:

•Granted extended day contracts for the 2020-21 school year to Nick Riley, 20 days; Pam Righi, nine days; Shelley Ahleman, 19 days; Ashley Braucksieck, 19 days; Brandon Readshaw, 35 days; and Katherine Bell, 35 days.

•Offered Tim Reed a one-year, non-certified contract as the concession manager for the 2020-21 school year for a maximum of 450 hours, plus mileage.

•Approved Kim Kamelesky, director of student services, as the grants coordinator for the 2020-21 school year, with a stipend of $1,000.

•Accepted the resignation of Melissa Smith, fifth grade science teacher, effective the end of the 2019-20 school year.

•Approved the transfers of Luke Hutchinson from eighth grade social studies teacher to fifth grade science teacher; and Liz Halleck from Title I reading teacher to eighth grade social studies teacher.

•Approved substitutes for the 2020-21 school year, including Kristi Gyurasics, Alicia Pieracini, Barb Maunz, Susan Garretson and Kristen Weirauch, lunchroom; James Weber, Stacey Dietrich, Micke Clendenin, Amanda Flathers, Karen Flory, Terry Miller, Deb Nash, Pat Parcher, Phil Roseman, Karen Savage, Bill Sharpe, Kevin Sonnenberg, Chelsea Wiley, Kathy Curlis, Paula Maurer and Diana Smith, van driver; Tom Fry, Ken Pohlman, Sue Meister, Kirsten Weirauch, Lexi Davis and Melissa Knapp, custodian; Alicia Pieracini, Jenny Perry, Nettie Rose, Glenda Conner, Rachel Orr and Rebekah Orr, secretary.

•Approved Stacey Dietrich as the district’s on-board instructor for the 2020-21 school year.

•Approved 2020-21 school year volunteer van drivers, including Katherine Bell, Kyle Bostater, Brett Green, Doug Hinton, Paula Maurer, Annette Niekamp, Brandon Readshaw, Jeff Ressler, Pam Righi, Stephanie Sager, Tyler Short, Diana Smith and Amy Spieth.

•Approved individuals to serve on Building Leadership Teams for the 2020-21 school year, and receive a $300 stipend, including Kathy Bishop, Brooke Keefer, Julie Masuwa, Karen Rettig, Brittany Meyer, Traci Chapman and Carey Pogan, elementary; Betsy Rees, Kim Jones, Cassie Hartzell, Steve Doseck, Jill Evans and Amber Pingle, middle; Patrick O’Dwyer, Heather Underwood, Ashley Braucksieck, Stephanie Sager, Megan Kolansinski, Kathy Bailey and Nicole Carter, high school.

•Approved individuals to serve on the District Leadership Team for the 2020-21 school year, and receive a $300 stipend, including Stacy Bowers, Karen Rettig and Brooke Keefer, elementary; Betsy Rees, Jerry Oberhaus and Jill Evans, middle school; and Patrick O’Dwyer, Brandon Readshaw and Kathy Bailey, high school.

•Offered Corey Meister, custodian, a continuing contract, effective Sept. 11.

•Offered Rachael Like a contract as a three-hour playground monitoring aide, beginning with eh 2020-21 school year.

•Approved advancing Liz Halleck, classroom teacher, to the Masters+30 column on the salary schedule.

•Approved Kaite Yungmann, Ashley Chapa and Lori Giesige as tutors for an elementary student for a maximum of six hours per week for two weeks, beginning Aug. 10.

•Offered one-year supplemental certified contracts to Chris Zacharias, head golf coach and assistant girls basketball coach; and Casey Mohler, head football coach.

•Approved 2020-21 volunteers, including Todd Spangler, football; Liz Spangler, cheerleading’ and Tyler Sharpe, volleyball.

•Offered Brad Howe a one-year supplemental contract as a junior high football coach for the 2020-21 school year.

•Offered Stephanie Sharpe a one-year supplemental contract as a freshman volleyball coach for the 2020-21 school year.

•Approved Tiffany Benson as a girls basketball junior high coach for the 2020-21 school year.

•Approved 2020-21 softball volunteers, including Tom Mohler, Andi Zacharias and Angi Mahn.

•Entered an executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. No actions were reported following the session.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.