Northwestern Water and Sewer District

BOWLING GREEN — The Northwestern Water and Sewer District’s Board of Trustees Thursday accepted the appointment of a new board member, reappointment of a current member, and also approved board officers during its first meeting of 2020.

The board accepted the township appointment of Brooke Hahn to the board. Hahn fills the board seat left vacant by Rob Armstrong. She lives in Troy Township and has previously worked as a paraprofessional educator at Eastwood Local Schools. Her other work experience includes handling transportation product logistics as well as inventory for L & L Plating and Packaging Inc., and The Andersons. She is an active community member, volunteer and serves on the board for her local church. Her term will expire in 2023.

“Through working and volunteering in the community, I connect with the needs of the people that I will serve,” Hahn said.

John Cheney was reappointed to the district’s board. Cheney resides in Henry Township. A founding member of the district’s board, he has served since July 1992. His current term expires in December 2023.

Mark Sheffer was re-elected to serve as board chairman. This will be his fifth consecutive year as chairman. Sheffer resides in Weston and serves as a municipal appointee. His current board term will expire in December 2021.

Douglas Miller was elected to serve as vice chairman of the board. Miller resides in Perrysburg Township. His current term expires in December 2021. Miller is a mechanical engineer and a lawyer. He is a partner and patent attorney with the law firm of Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP in Toledo and co-chairs the Intellectual Property Practice Group.

Melinda Kale was elected to serve as the secretary. This will be her second year serving in the position. Kale is a resident of Rudolph and is a township appointee whose term expires in 2020. She is the CEO of Work Leads to Independence and participates in community boards such as The Governor’s Council of People With Disabilities, Bowling Green Chamber of Commerce Board of Trustees and the Liberty Township Memorial Association.

Three board members are appointed by the townships, three by the municipalities and three by the Wood County commissioners and one board member is appointed by the Henry County commissioners.

(Information courtesy of Northwestern Water and Sewer District.)


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.