ARCHBOLD — Northwest State Community College recently honored students achieving academic excellence during its fall honors ceremony. Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Delta Nu and Award of Merit students were recognized during the one-hour ceremony on the college’s Archbold campus.

Following a welcome by NSCC Executive Vice President Todd Hernandez, the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) induction was emceed by Amy Drees, NSCC Arts & Sciences faculty. To be eligible for induction, students must have a minimum 3.5 grade point average after completing at least 18 credit hours of college coursework.

The 15 PTK inductees included Rebecca Abell of Bryan, Amanda Crompton of Grand Rapids, Christopher Ferguson of Defiance, Matthew McKown of Curtice, Lucia Myers of Delta, Steven Sabins of Bryan, Eric Shininger of Sherwood, Elliot Wannemacher of Defiance, Jillian Clapp of Liberty Center, Deon Daughtery of Antwerp, Jenna Keesecker of Montpelier, Jennifer Menz of Wauseon, Nathaniel Rodriguez of Stryker, Jacqueline Sager of Wauseon and Cora Vanslyke of Wauseon.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 to encourage academic achievement for two-year college students. Its mission is to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members.

The next group honored at the ceremony were the 13 new inductees into the Alpha Delta Chapter of the Alpha Delta Nu (ADN) Nursing Honor Society. In order to qualify, students must maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average, with at least a B in all nursing classes.

ADN inductees included Melissa Bowling of Defiance, Maelynn Growden of Toledo, Katalina Kelley of Wauseon, Alicia Luke of Bryan, Hanah Meter of Napoleon, Haley Pierce of Hicksville, Kimberly Clingaman of Wauseon, Kimberly Holmes of Delta, Brittany Ludemann of Chillicothe, Shaylee Manahan of Edon, Kelsea McNeil, of Camden, Michigan, Ashley Patton of Edgerton and Morgan Rice of Wauseon.

The college also recognized 11 Award of Merit recipients. For more than 25 years, Northwest State has recognized graduates within the degree programs for their academic achievements. Award of Merit recipients are chosen by faculty from the respective divisions based on leadership involvement, special talents or abilities in their academic field and significant contributions to Northwest State.

Recipients included Keetyn Ayers of Defianceand Jacqueline Sager of Wauseon, Business & Public Services division; Maxie Ratanasri of Archbold, Rachelle Wyse of Ridgeville Corners, Caleb Davila of Defiance, Kassidy Swanson of Napoleon and Seth Brakefield of Pettisville, Arts & Sciences division; Melissa Bowling of Defiance and Kimberly Clingaman of Wauseon, Nursing and Allied Health division; and Kyle Nicely of Defiance and Scott Zimmer of Edgerton, STEM division.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.